Outreachy Recap 2023

Outreachy Recap 2023

·

3 min read

Making GNOME Platform Demos


The End

Hello! I didn't blog nearly as often as I should have, but I'm here now to give a comprehensive report of the work I managed to get done this summer! This has been such a rewarding experience, and I do not intend for this to be the end of my GNOME Contributions. I hope you all see more of me in the FOSS world.


Mentors

Special thanks to Sonny Piers and Andy Holmes for everything. I wasn't the perfect intern, but I couldn't have asked for better mentors. I'm so thankful to know such cool people


My teammates

Also another special thanks to my fellow interns that I got to work with this summer: Sriyansh Shivam and Akshay Warrier

Had a ton of fun and got a lot done with these awesome individuals.


Workbench

If you don't know what it is, please download it already. It is such a useful tool to have at your disposal.


My Contributions

Below are bulleted lists of Workbench Library entries and other contributions done in part by me.

User Interface Demos

  • Dialogs

  • ViewSwitcher

  • Preferences Window

  • Carousel

  • Stack

  • CenterBox

  • Breakpoints

  • Overlaysplit View

  • Drag-and-Drop

Media Demos

  • Video

  • Audio

  • Camera

  • Picture

  • Screencast

Text and Label Demos

  • Editable Label

  • Label

  • Pango

  • Spell Checker

Buttons and Menu Demos

  • Scale Button

  • Menu Button

  • DropDown

Additional Contributions

  • GTK CSS Example

  • Preview Screenshots now copy to clipboard \o/

  • Added new Libadwaita 1.4 widgets to older demos

  • HTTP Request Demo

  • Split File Dialog Entry into 3 Separate Demos


What I've Learned

  • I love working with GTK4 and Libadwaita. It allows us to create such beautiful and forward-thinking applications. The GNOME HIG is top-tier.

  • I need to ask for help when stuck.

  • How to write using Markdown, using that right now ;)

  • How awesome open-source development is.

  • I've learned what I want to do for the rest of my life. I want to contribute, even if I'm not the best at it or if life gets in the way. I might as well use what little skill I have to give back. The only appropriate attitude to wealth is to share it, and my coffers are filled with GNOME Documentation now.


What I Need to Do

  • Fix the Drop Zone entry

  • Contribute more

  • Get more involved in the community as a whole


Thanks and see you soon!

Edit: libmanette

I also completed a libmanette entry. libmanette is a simple GObject game controller library. The entry is functional, but libmanette is currently in need of a maintainer.