My Career Goals

·

1 min read

I have been increasingly disillusioned and disappointed by corporate technology. The absolute dumpster fire of Twitter and the issues present at Reddit has also reminded me how absolutely horrible these massive tech companies are. I do not want to be another underpaid cog in a massive contraption that is only making our world worse.

I hope that one day in the future I could make a living as an independent developer. I envision a career where I am not just building software, but creating tools that respect users' freedom and privacy while contributing to the common good. I want my work to reflect my values, and to stand for something more than just profit.

My adventures in developing for GNOME during this internship with Outreachy, have proven to be an invaluable stepping stone towards this goal. It's an experience I'm profoundly grateful for and one that has reinforced my commitment to a future aligned with FOSS values.

It is highly likely that this is all just a pipe dream and paying my rent via patreon will not be my reality. Thanks for reading.

I'll see you around