Introducing myself!

·

2 min read

Hello, I'm José.

I'm an open source fanatic and I'll be working on Workbench this summer. I'm required to blog about this experience so here we go!

I'm currently a college student studying Computer Science. I've been programming for fun for years. I switched to Linux 2 years ago and I've been getting into programming using GTK and Vala and now I'm getting paid to do exactly that. Which is crazy because I'm still very new to this, but I'm enjoying it so much.


"Core Values"

I'm required to talk about core values in this week's blog post. So core values are "important personality traits" which describe yours truly. Having gone through the list provided to me. I've decided to pick only one...

Challenge

I like this word. It's not a personality trait or ideal that I hold on to tightly, but una palabra que me describe. Like most people, I've faced challenges and I'm still facing them. I am a disabled minority. I am proud to be a statistical anomaly, and I would not be here without programs like Outreachy.


Why I applied to Outreachy

because I need to pay rent and I'm not working another horrible food service job. In actuality, I applied to Outreachy after seeing a post on Mastodon. Which makes me even more grateful that I joined FOSS Community. I've met many cool people and they are the only reason I'm here now. Outreachy and programs like it are allowing me to start my career while I'm still in college. I can't wait to see where this journey goes and good luck to all my fellow GSOC/Outreachy Interns.